Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal is elected as a Member of Parliament for the second term in the 16th Lok Sabha from 2014 onwards. From May 2017 onwards, he is a member of the Committee of Estimates. He is also a member of governing body of the All India Institute of Medical Sciences(AIIMS).  He is the co-author of the book, “India The Future is Now”

Dr. Jaiswal has an inclination towards working in environment and clean energy initiatives. Presently, he is Convener of Climate Parliament India Network. He has addressed several national and international dialogues on climate change, low carbon development and clean energy initiatives. He has also participated in various dialogues for defining India’s strategy for the successful implementation of COP 21. He has contributed to various forums including Asia Pacific Forum on Climate Change Finance and Sustainable Development held in Jakarta in September 2015. He also participated in various platforms of COP 22 at Marrakesh, Morocco.

Dr. Jaiswal has undertaken several clean energy initiatives in his constituency, the state of Bihar. He has also been instrumental in getting a major recommendation passed in the final reports of Estimates Committee for increasing the budget of the Ministry of New and Renewable Energy to 1% of the total plan outlay. He has encouraged MPs for initiating low carbon development works in their respective constituencies and he has supported implementation of various off grid and decentralized renewable energy technologies at local levels.